SA Women Talk Tech Linkage Love

For my first official post, I have been given the privilege of sharing a little linkage love.  I think it would be most appropriate if I share one of my own loves: the growing world of infographics.  For those of you unfamiliar with this word, an infographic is a way of representing  data in a visual way.  One of the outcomes of this internet age is that we have a lot of  data at our finger tips.  Visualizations help us to make sense this information and can make it accessible to a larger audience. Higher Education is also a source of a lot of great information.  Think about how many surveys your department or college does in a year.  Have you ever thought about sharing the outcome with your students in a graphic way? If not, I want to plant the seed in your head.  Below are a short list of some of my favorite infographics & infographic sites. Check them out and get inspired!

As I have been inspired, I am working on a number of infographics myself. Some serious (based on real data) and some just for fun.  If you would like to contribute your ideas to one of my fun infographics, feel free to email me or tweet me (@jessfaulk) with an answer to one of the following questions:

  • What is a symptom that might appear if you need Student Affairs Detox? (inspired by Column Five) (#saDetox)
  • How is Residence Life like Star Trek? (#startrekRL)

Original Post: http://sawomentalktech.com/blog/2011/04/10/linkage-love-16/

Leave a Reply

