Linkage Love: Tribute to good friends

by Jess Faulk

I am going to make my linkage love this week a tribute to people that I love.  These friends have made an impact on my life throughout the years in a positive way, whether it was being generous with their time, their spirit, or their encouragement.  I think these folks are truly great individuals, and I hope that you will be so lucky as to get to know them one day.

Mike Shinn
Mike Shinn (yes, you need to always say both his first and last name) was an icon before he was a friend of mine.  As RHA President at UC Santa Barbara (my undergraduate institution) Mike taught be about “branding” before I even knew the concept.  Not surprisingly, he was before his time.  Mike also showed me such kindness as a clueless sophomore buying my first ever computer (sadly, a PC).  He gave me a much needed power cord that he kept around for just such occasions, and since then I have emulated him (perhaps to a fault) keeping extra cords around my apartment in the rare chance that I might be able to offer then to some student or staff member in need.  Thank you Mike for being a truly genuine and fantastic person!

Visit Mike’s blog if you want practical advice on sane parenting.  And if you are looking for a new hobby, check out Mike’s labor of love, a tribute to all soda, from Yogurt soda to Fanta.
http://www.mikeshinn.com/

http://www.kingofsoda.com/

Sean Lieberman
Sean, better known as his alterego “demonhood” online, is one of the funniest people I know.  If I ever need a good laugh I know I can head over to his quotes page, or read the captions on his enormous photo gallery.  Sean and his friends took me in to their group when I really needed friends, and he always had patience to teach me tech (or rollerhockey or softball).  Sean is also extremely talented, and I have always envied the focus he puts into his beautiful work.  If you live in the Santa Barbara area, consider hiring him and Lopaka to do photography for an event.
http://www.demonhood.com/

http://www.takeaglance.com/

Robbie Samuels
What were you doing on “Robbie Samuels Day?”  Yup, Robbie has a official day now in the City of Boston (Sept 16th) for being the been instrumental in the work to end discrimination based on sexual orientation, HIV status and gender identity and expression and co-founded Socializing for Justice (SoJust), a grassroots group committed to building a stronger cross-issue progressive community, network and movement by putting the “social back in social justice.”  I’ve only known Robbie since February of this year, and yet it feels like I have known him for years.  Robbie is a connector, he always makes everyone feel welcome and included, and has taught me so much in the little time I have known him.  I love the concept that Robbie has fostered through sojust.org and Campus2Community, which is simply to get like-minded people in a room together without a specific agenda and you see what happens.

I hope that some of you in the Boston area will join us at the Campus2Community Happy Hour for faculty and staff on October 25th. I am excited to see what happens organically when people from all areas of the university and all passions get together to socialize. Find out more at http://www.c2cnet.org/
http://www.robbiesamuels.com/

http://www.sojust.org/

@RobbieSamuels

Thank you to my dear friends for all that you have given me and continue to give me through your inspiration.  I must also acknowledge that all of these friends I am honoring with linage love this week are men on a website by women, celebrating women and tech.  What this means to me is that I need to continue to contribute my own knowledge and insights to the community in hopes that I can also make an impact people in my life.

Originally posted on the Student Affairs Women Talk Tech Blog, Sept. 20, 2011

Leave a Reply

